The Factory Planning of the Future for Industry 4.0

The demands placed on a modern factory are more complex than ever. Satisfying customer needs in volatile markets requires flexible, efficient production environments in which digitalization and automation solutions are integrated as usefully as possible. Ambitious climate targets must also be observed and appealing working environments created for employees. These tasks call for a structured factory planning method, from the choice of the site to the construction of the production facility. 

How Is the Factory of the Future Created?

Designing and planning sustainable, digital factories with maximum productiveness is a challenge that industrial companies are going to have to deal with continuously – often under heavy time pressure, too. This involves more than just new factories on greenfield sites. Given statutory environment targets, rising construction costs, shortages of space and materials, and shorter product life cycles, existing factories need to be made fit for the future as well (the key phrase here being “green brownfield”). 

The field of factory planning includes the structured planning and design of future production capacity, logistics, and factory buildings as well as the monitoring of construction progress through to the ramp up of production. The factory of the future should be planned in a way that lets it use resources efficiently and transform, especially when considering sustainability and flexible usage. The field encompasses a complex range of tasks that, in the age of digitalization, requires sustainable solutions for numerous strategic areas: 

These components must be connected together to form an excellent plant structure in which supporting processes, both value-creating and non-value-creating, are efficiently interwoven. At the same time, working environments that let employees unlock their full potential must also be created. Businesses will ideally meet these ambitious requirements by adopting a vision that they realize step by step through an implementation plan.

(Re-)Designing Factories to Be Sustainable 

Greenhouse-gas-neutral production is an important milestone in an organization’s development into a zero-emissions company. Read our Insights page about zero-emissions companies and find out the elements of this transformation that are still significant and how your company can approach its decarbonization objective purposefully. 

What Is the Best Approach for Manufacturing Businesses to Take?

Factory planning begins with an understanding of the systematic process (form follows function). Businesses achieve the best results when they develop a target layout (short distances, synergies, clusters, etc.) for their resource-efficient factory based on an ideal, zero-waste value stream. In the next step, they then transfer this model to the real world while considering all the restrictions that are present. After that, they can define and specify the building structure and form. 

Methodical factory planning maximizes the potential of strategically important investments such as new build, site relocations, and site expansions. The easiest way for businesses to harness this potential is to work with an external planning partner. 


In What Areas Can Ingenics Support You?

The factory of the future must connect visions such as the smart factory, green factory, and smart building in a purposeful way. Our consultants rely on a multistep approach and interdisciplinary set of tools and methods for this. Together with their client, they start with a status quo analysis, optimize processes, and define the requirements for the factory structures based on their findings. Afterwards, they oversee the project during all its stages, from selecting the site to bringing the factory online: 

Site Selection

The key factors when selecting a factory site include, in particular, the company’s supplier mix and its geographical proximity to its market. With our know-how, we help you to find a site that can be integrated into your supply chain usefully when considering all political and sustainability-related factors. 

Learn more

Building/Factory Specifications

Given that product life cycles are becoming shorter and shorter, modern factories need building and factory structures that are as flexible and adaptable as possible. We provide you support for your conceptual and detailed planning and create detailed requirement specifications (in BIM or exported to classic documents) to serve as the foundation for the project’s realization by the general planners, architects, and technical planners. 

Methodology and Approach: Building Information Modeling

To keep planning quality at the highest level from the outset and make the collaboration between all stakeholders efficient, there must be transparency about the costs and construction progress at all times. You can ensure this by using digital factory planning with building information modeling (BIM). BIM is a cooperative method for integrated construction project realization that organizes the interfaces between all trades involved in the construction project. It is accomplished by using a consistent, digital building model that captures all the information relevant to the factory life cycle and makes it manageable. 

Learn more

Plant Structure Plan/Master Plan

By performing a well-considered site analysis, you can find out how futureproof and economical a site is. To make this happen, we provide you with site concepts that include a financial analysis, calculations of the investments required, the envisaged stages, a cash outflow plan, and a schedule. In order for the general development concepts to be based on your current and future products, you also need layout solutions that support the long-term development of your company. Production that focuses on the value stream in turn requires carefully planned processes, structures, and layouts. 

Construction of Factories

Effective project control, good change management, and well-functioning cost control are important requirements for the construction of your factory. We guide you through the construction and look after all important project management steps. 


How Do You Profit from Factory Planning with Ingenics?

Advice – highly competent oversight of all project stages 

Orientation – effective strategy at company and department levels 

Efficiency gains – less space needed thanks to process optimization and layout planning as well as proposals for optimizing/adjusting architecture 

Systematic approach – structured, methodical approach and clearly understood project management 

Structuring – data analytics and processing with appealing graphic presentation 

Participation – active shaping of the planning process (workshops, etc.) 

Transparency – clear specifications for quality, costs, and dates; the results, costs, and construction progress can be viewed at any time 

Documentation – original documents for internal usage or for submission to government offices 

Certainty – security for project thanks to experienced team of experts 

Challenge – “view from the outside,” assessment/improvement of processes, presentation of potential for optimization 

Benchmarks – experience/industry testimonials increase competitiveness and provide opportunities for comparison 

Innovation – new ideas, technologies, and problem-solving approaches 

Concept(s) – sustainable site concept, including a financial analysis, calculations of the investments required, the envisaged stages, a cash outflow plan, and schedule 

Intermediary – effective communication of requirements for the building design/communication between client and architect 

FAQs about Factory Planning

Green Greenfield and Green Brownfield – What Do They Really Mean?

When a green factory is constructed on a new site, this is referred to as a “green greenfield project.” With these projects, the business enjoys all freedoms when designing the factory structure, when fitting out the building, and with the production processes. In practice, however, it is more common to upgrade existing factories and make them sustainable. These “green brownfield projects” require factory planners to question tried and tested efficiency-raising measures and ways of thinking. It is a continuous improvement process, unlike classic factory planning. 

What Does Ingenics See as a Smart Factory?

A smart factory is a fully connected production environment in which the production equipment and logistics systems are largely organized by themselves. Seen historically, it represents the fourth stage in the factory’s evolution and forms the center of futuristic concepts such as Industry 4.0. The Internet of Things and connected cyberphysical systems act as the technological basis for it. 

Sieghard Schmetzer

Sieghard Schmetzer

Partner
Phone: +49 731 93680 226

The New Ingenics Magazine Is Available Now!

The newly released Ingenics magazine No. 08 / 2022 is now available for download.
Download now

工业4.0未来工厂规划

对现代化工厂的要求比以往任何时候都复杂。在动荡的市场中满足客户需求需要灵活、高效的生产环境,在这种环境中,数字化和自动化解决方案尽可能有效地集成在一起。还必须遵守雄心勃勃的气候目标,并为员工创造富有吸引力的工作环境。这些任务需要一种结构化的工厂规划方法,从选址到生产设施的建设。

 

未来工厂是如何创建的?

设计和规划具有最大生产力的可持续数字化工厂是工业企业必须持续应对的挑战,通常也会面临巨大的时间压力。这不仅仅涉及在绿地上新建工厂。考虑到法定的环境目标、不断上升的建筑成本、空间和材料短缺以及更短的产品生命周期,现有工厂也需要适应未来(这里的关键短语是“绿棕地”)。

工厂规划领域包括未来生产能力、物流和工厂建筑的结构化规划和设计,以及从施工进度到生产升级的监控。未来工厂的规划应使其能够有效利用资源并进行转型,特别是在考虑可持续性和灵活使用时。该领域包含一系列复杂的任务,在数字化时代,需要为众多战略领域提供可持续的解决方案: 

这些组件必须连接在一起,以形成一个优秀的工厂结构,在该结构中,价值创造和非价值创造的支持过程有效地交织在一起。同时,还必须创造让员工充分发挥潜力的工作环境。理想情况下,企业将通过实施计划逐步实现愿景,从而满足这些雄心勃勃的要求。

(重新)设计可持续发展的工厂 

温室气体中和生产是一个组织向零排放公司发展的重要里程碑。阅读我们关于零排放公司的“洞察”页面,了解这一转型中仍然重要的因素,以及贵公司如何有目的地实现其脱碳目标。 

制造业企业采取的最佳方法是什么?

工厂规划始于对系统过程的理解(形式遵循功能)。当企业为其基于理想的零浪费价值流的资源高效工厂制定目标布局(短距离、协同效应、集群等)时,企业会取得最佳结果。在下一步中,他们将这个模型转移到现实世界中,同时考虑目前存在的所有限制。之后,他们可以定义并且指定建筑的结构和形式。

有条不紊的工厂规划最大限度地发挥了重要战略投资的潜力,如新建、场地搬迁和场地扩建。企业利用这一潜力的最简单方法是与外部规划合作伙伴合作。


英见公司可以在哪些领域为您提供支持?

未来的工厂必须有目的地连接智能工厂、绿色工厂和智能建筑等愿景。我们的顾问依赖于多步骤方法和跨学科的工具和方法。他们与客户一起,从现状分析开始,优化流程,并根据调查结果确定工厂结构的要求。之后,他们在项目的各个阶段进行监督,从选址到工厂上线:

场地选择

选择厂址时的关键因素尤其包括公司的供应商组合及其与市场的地理距离。凭借我们的专业知识,我们可以帮助您在考虑所有政治和可持续性相关因素时,找到一个可以有效地整合到您的供应链中的网站。 

了解更多信息

 

建筑/工厂规范

鉴于产品生命周期越来越短,现代工厂需要尽可能灵活和适应的建筑和工厂结构。我们为您的概念和详细规划提供支持,并创建详细的需求规范(BIM或导出为经典文档),作为总规划师、建筑师和技术规划师实现项目的基础。

方法与途径:建筑信息建模

为了从一开始就将规划质量保持在最高水平,并使所有利益相关者之间的合作高效,必须始终保持成本和施工进度的透明度。您可以通过使用数字工厂规划和建筑信息建模(BIM)来确保这一点。BIM是一种综合建设项目实现的合作方法,它组织了建设项目中涉及的所有行业之间的接口。这是通过使用一致的数字建筑模型来实现的,该模型捕获了与工厂生命周期相关的所有信息,并使其易于管理。 

了解更多信息 

 

工厂结构计划/总体计划

通过进行深思熟虑的场地分析,您可以了解场地的未来性和经济性。为了实现这一点,我们为您提供场地概念,包括财务分析、所需投资的计算、预期阶段、现金流出计划和时间表。为了使一般开发概念基于您当前和未来的产品,您还需要支持公司长期发展的布局解决方案。专注于价值流的生产反过来需要精心规划的流程、结构和布局。

工厂建设

有效的项目控制、良好的变更管理和良好的成本控制是工厂建设的重要要求。我们指导您完成施工,并负责所有重要的项目管理步骤。


如何利用英见公司从工厂规划中获利?

建议–对所有项目阶段进行高度胜任的监督 

定位——公司和部门层面的有效战略 

效率提高–由于流程优化和布局规划以及优化/调整架构的建议,所需空间更少 

系统化方法——结构化、系统化方法和清晰理解的项目管理 

结构化–数据分析和处理,具有吸引力的图形演示 

参与–积极塑造规划过程(研讨会等) 

透明度——质量、成本和日期的明确规范;可以随时查看结果、成本和施工进度 

文件–供内部使用或提交给政府办公室的原始文件 

确定性–由于经验丰富的专家团队,项目的安全性 

挑战–“从外部看”,评估/改进流程,展示优化潜力 

基准——经验/行业评价提高竞争力并提供比较机会 

创新——新思想、新技术和解决问题的方法 

概念–可持续场地概念,包括财务分析、所需投资计算、预期阶段、现金流出计划和时间表 

中介——有效沟通建筑设计要求/客户与建筑师之间的沟通

工厂规划常见问题解答

绿色绿地和绿色棕地——它们到底意味着什么?

当一个绿色工厂在一个新的场地上建造时,这被称为“绿色绿地项目”。通过这些项目,企业在设计工厂结构、装修建筑和生产过程时享有所有自由。然而,在实践中,升级现有工厂并使其可持续发展更为常见。这些“绿色棕地项目”要求工厂规划者质疑久经考验的提高效率措施和思维方式。与传统的工厂规划不同,这是一个持续改进的过程。

英见公司认为什么是智能工厂?

智能工厂是一个完全连接的生产环境,其中生产设备和物流系统主要由自己组织。从历史上看,它代表了工厂发展的第四个阶段,并形成了工业4.0等未来概念的中心。物联网和连接的网络物理系统是其技术基础。

Alexander Hänel

Alexander Hänel

Director

新一期英见杂志现已出版!

直接以PDF格式下载当期的《英见》杂志第 08 / 2022 期。
立即下载